Mystique

Yesterday I saw a couple walking down the street, arm-in-arm. The woman was blind and the man was an albino. Which I guess makes for a good couple, because a blind woman has no need for pigment in a lover.

###

Jamie isn’t even a huge Obama fan. But John McCain’s bumbling, revelatory responses on health care and women’s issues have brought out the rage. Today I got an IM from her during work that said, “I hope Obama crushes America with a fist of steel.”

###

By the way, she was worried people I know would think she’s in the military because I said she’s been deployed. Not so. She works for the same left-wing conspiracy I do.

###

I downloaded like a dozen CDs in the past week or two. Highlights: Hold Steady, Almost Killed Me, featuring the line “I’ve been trying to get everyone to call me Sunny D. Cause I got the good stuff kids go for. But people keep calling me Five Alive.” Nick Cave, Dig Lazarus Dig. Smashing Pumpkins, Siamese Dream. Oasis, What’s the Story Morning Glory. And Jimmy Eat World, Static Prevails. I’m all about the 90s rock lately.

###

As planned, now that I am 30, I have begun wearing Converse All-Stars. Because being a 20-something in Portland wearing Converse is tragically cliche. But being a 30-something who wears them in Denver adds a layer of mystique. And immaturity.

###

I voted early, and I voted for Obama. And my horse may just win this time around. And for once I can cast my vote knowing that it actually could influence the outcome of the election. And all of my politically misled family members in Arizona will vote for John McCain … and their vote won’t mean a damn thing. Ahahahaha!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Catfish Vegas says:

    Mark Udall is running some great ads.

  2. JLC says:

    can i steal this line: “I hope Obama crushes America with a fist of steel.”?

  3. Mr. Chair says:

    of course!

Leave a Reply

