I have a problem

I find myself rifling through Living sections and classified sections of any newspaper I find. I ask strangers for change to get a paper, only to throw 99 percent of the issue out. Folded, scribbled on pieces of newsprint litter my apartment. I almost always carry two of them in a back pocket at any time. Crossword puzzles. Some of them I can tear through in minutes (Matt Jones of the Willamette Week) others I can struggle through with consistency (Oregonian), still others plague me and even scare me a little (Times, anything after Tuesday). I claim not to be an expert or a professional, only an addict. They say addiction is inherited. My Grandma does at least one every day, all the way through.

###

This is so true to life, that part of me started to wonder if a former Daily Wildcatter is working for the Onion. I think that’s actually my friend and former Wildcat EIC Dave Cieslak in that photo. The only difference is that we really were good, dammit. Right? Right.

Former Editor Cant Believe Shit College Newspaper Is Printing

The Onion

Former Editor Can’t Believe Shit College Newspaper Is Printing

NEW YORK—”It’s clear the new people don’t give a shit, and believe me, that kind of thing starts at the top,” Troy Bartell said of the newspaper’s lack of journalistic integrity.

.onion_embed {background: rgb(256, 256, 256) !important;border: 4px solid rgb(65, 160, 65);border-width: 4px 0 1px 0;margin: 10px 30px !important;padding: 5px;overflow: hidden !important;zoom: 1;}.onion_embed img {border: 0 !important;}.onion_embed a {display: inline;}.onion_embed a.img {float: left !important;margin: 0 5px 0 0 !important;width: 66px;display: block;overflow: hidden !important;}.onion_embed a.img img {border: 1px solid #222 !important;;width: 64px;;padding: 0 !important;;}.onion_embed h2 {line-height: 2px;;clear: none;;margin: 0 !important;padding: 0 !important;}.onion_embed h3 {line-height: 16px;font: bold 16px arial, sans-serif !important;margin: 3px 0 0 0 !important;padding: 0 !important;}.onion_embed h3 a {line-height: 16px !important;;color: rgb(0, 51, 102) !important;font: bold 16px arial, sans-serif !important;text-decoration: none !important;display: inline !important;;float: none !important;;text-transform: capitalize !important;}.onion_embed h3 a:hover {text-decoration: underline !important;color: rgb(204, 51, 51) !important;}.onion_embed p {color: #000 !important;;font: normal 11px/ 11px arial, sans-serif !important;;margin: 2px 0 0 0 !important;;padding: 0 !important;}.onion_embed a {display: inline !important;;float: none !important;}
###

I don’t even know what the hell’s going on in Smallville anymore. Every once in a while I turn it on, on my one channel, and everything’s totally different than I remember. And I’ll be damned if that isn’t Lil’ Bow Wow!

###

Swedlund is coming to town! We’re going to go see Son Volt! And dance in the streets until our souls are fed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. JLC says:

    swedlund forwarded that onion link and we, too, wondered if that was our good friend dave cieslak. and then we listed all the other former editors that probably also describes.

    the difference is, dave cracked the big story. the $58 breakfast story. it was very serious.

  2. JLC says:

    swedlund forwarded that onion link and we, too, wondered if that was our good friend dave cieslak. and then we listed all the other former editors that probably also describes.

    the difference is, dave cracked the big story. the $58 breakfast story. it was very serious.

Leave a Reply

