I miss …

Comic books. I haven’t been able to go comic book shopping in several months, partially due to lack of routine and partially to lack of money. Comics are an expensive hobby if you get really into them. When I was in my peak of steady income working for the Tribune, I went every week and spend $30-$50. I think I spent so much not only because I had more money, but because the work I had to do to get it was driving me nuts. Comic books were my sanctuary. The 20 minutes each one takes is a pure, interactive escape. I still read comic books, borrowed from friends and from the library, but it’s not the same. Going to the store every Wednesday and hitting the new release wall is a special pleasure. You never know what’s going to be out if you don’t scan the Internet. It’s like the pleasure of going to a bookstore and browsing for new books, but every week with dozens of new possibilities. Then there’s the serial read. Following stories serially in short form, once a week is one of the most satisfying versions of long form storytelling there is. There’s that excitement of an issue you’ve been waiting for, with a cliffhanger picking up or a cover that’s shocking. It’s in that plastic bag, waiting for you. Some issues you open and start reading at stoplights on the way home. Some you save until Thursday or Friday. Then that satisfying last page, and ending a book, not being able to wait for next Wednesday. I remember when I was younger, and my favorite show was Northern Exposure on Mondays and how no matter how awful of a day I had, there was that show to look forward to. Same thing goes for Buffy when it was on. The recent HBO shows – Six Feet Under and Sopranos mostly – were like that for me, but on such an unreliable basis, since the seasons were only like 12 episodes, and several months separated seasons. I read once that when long-running TV shows are cancelled, there are cases of depression, because the characters become just as important as family members. That’s pretty powerful stuff.

Having a sofa. Not only is it not in the budget while we finish paying off moving in costs, but we’re really not too sure how to get one up our narrow stairwells. We have to get one though, because coming home and collapsing on an air mattress, or lounging at the kitchen table just isn’t the same as a couch.

Having a cat. I’ve been over this before.

Anna from The O.C. She was in our lives for just half a season, but in our hearts forever.

Bill Clinton. Now there was a Democrat!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. CICCI says:

    What are some favorite titles?

  2. CICCI says:

    What are some favorite titles?

  3. Coconut Monkey says:

    I miss Anna too. I always thought here and Seth were going to get married, but then he had to run back to Summer. And what’s up with that? I mean please… he dug her when he was 5th grade. He’s older now. Man, I just need to stop.

    But I understand missing your couch. I’ve got a really, ugly old one. It’s all Santa Fe style. It smells like smoke and beer. But what can you do? It was a gift. And it’s in bad taste to refuse a gift.

  4. Coconut Monkey says:

    I miss Anna too. I always thought here and Seth were going to get married, but then he had to run back to Summer. And what’s up with that? I mean please… he dug her when he was 5th grade. He’s older now. Man, I just need to stop.

    But I understand missing your couch. I’ve got a really, ugly old one. It’s all Santa Fe style. It smells like smoke and beer. But what can you do? It was a gift. And it’s in bad taste to refuse a gift.

  5. Mr. Chair says:

    Favorite titles … anything by Warren Ellis, such as Planetary, Desolation Jones, Fell and Transmetropolitan. I also like Bryan K. Vaughan, who writes Ex Machina and Y: The Last Man. Everything Daniel Clowes touches is incredible. Johnny Ryan’s Angry Youth Comix are filthy genius. Greg Rucka’s Queen and Country is excellent. James Kochalka’s Sketchbook Diaries. Adrian Tomine is one of my favorite comic book artists, and Optic Nerve is one of the few books I’ll buy just for the art.

  6. Mr. Chair says:

    Favorite titles … anything by Warren Ellis, such as Planetary, Desolation Jones, Fell and Transmetropolitan. I also like Bryan K. Vaughan, who writes Ex Machina and Y: The Last Man. Everything Daniel Clowes touches is incredible. Johnny Ryan’s Angry Youth Comix are filthy genius. Greg Rucka’s Queen and Country is excellent. James Kochalka’s Sketchbook Diaries. Adrian Tomine is one of my favorite comic book artists, and Optic Nerve is one of the few books I’ll buy just for the art.

Leave a Reply

