Sick, fucking cold and other developments

I spent two of the last three days lying in bed, alternately freezing, burning up, and hacking up my lungs. Not only was there an “arctic blast” blowing record lows in the 20s through Portland, but I had a nasty virus that took me out of work and most life functions for the late part of the week. I’m back up to about 85 percent as of Saturday, but mostly I watched DVDs and chugged fluids until pretty recently. Sara took good care of me, bringing home supplies and laying in bed with me until I could walk again. I usually get real sick about every one or two years. We’re talking immobile sick, not just sniffles and a sore throat. This was the first time in a long while. Sometimes I have fevered delusions and even revelations about life. Not so much this time, that I can think of. Lots of random life thoughts, but nothing definitive. I had a lot of fevered dreams featuring late-night kite flying. Sara’s favorite hobby has become a recurring theme for me. Some weird dreams featuring canvassing. Some half-asleep hallucinations. One phrase stuck in my head the other day: “Not only September 11th, but also dinosaurs have taken a significant bite out of America’s moral core.” There was also a little repeating thought about a gun that shoots a grapefruit-sized ball at its target, knocking the victim out and sticking to his face. The ball unravels in plastery strips, wrapping up his face tightly in a fleshy mask, which solidifies and becomes a new face the victim is wearing when he awakes. Weird. I do enjoy that fresh mindset you get when you come out of an illness. I was compartmentalizing and organizing shit all day.

During my illness, I watched: Batman, Babe Pig in the City, Tales from the Crypt: Demon Knight, The Gift, Bring It On, House of Wax, Arrested Development.


In the kitchen:


We wrapped up all of our credit cards in tape and threw them in a drawer. Credit partially got us across the country, and now that we’re settled it’s time to never use them again. Credit cards are beautiful and dangerous things.


I always meant to take this picture for Catfish. It’s in Mission Theater Pub in NW Portland. Here it is:


Here’s a wonderful painting Sara did recently that now hangs in the living room:


Here’s a picture Lauren painted that she gave us as a housewarming present:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. JLC says:

    ty young gave me wonderful advice about credit cards once: put your credit card in a cup of water and freeze it. then, if you want to use it, you at least have to think a while about it before it thaws.

  2. JLC says:

    ty young gave me wonderful advice about credit cards once: put your credit card in a cup of water and freeze it. then, if you want to use it, you at least have to think a while about it before it thaws.

  3. catfishvegas says:

    Man, catfish are just fucking awesome!

  4. catfishvegas says:

    Man, catfish are just fucking awesome!

Leave a Reply

