This must be the place

After about 8 months of drifting, I have a home, a job and a bed. Three things I haven’t had all at once in a long time. It’s funny how readapting to having a rooted life is both simple and instinctive, but also extremely complicated. My early to do lists when staying on Chase’s foldout bed were something like: “-Shave -Job -Laundry -Find apartment -Powell’s books -Haircut -See movie.” Something like that. When we first got into town, I had this hurry and do stuff feeling like we were going to leave soon. We both had to take a big breath and realize that this is home, and we don’t have to drive long distances anytime soon. Of course that was all solidified when we moved into our place in SW downtown Portland last week. We were days from taking a spare bedroom in my co-workers’ house after failing a credit check for an apartment. In two days we found the perfect house overlooking the Willamette River, Ross Island and Mt. Hood, talked and befriended our new landlords, found out the petty address discrepancy that put a red flag on my background check, and wrote a massive check for move in fees. The house is incredible.

All of our toiletries are in the medicine cabinet. My storage unit is empty. Our fridge is full. My TV is plugged in. It’s a beautiful thing. Portland is wonderful. I’ll get into some more details soon, I’m only at the coffee shop right now. Gotta get internet up and running at home. Haven’t been online in days.

Real quick, I’ve been meaning to give a shout out to all of the folks who made the Mr. Chair 05 tour possible. In no order other than my scattered hurried memory:

Jerry for giving me the home away from home on the East Coast, and putting up with the only roommates he never killed or kicked out. Kate and Jeremy in Hartford. Face in Denver. Face in Denver again. BMFH in Flagg. My sister Amanda in Phoenix. Catfish in Tucson. Haag up in Wisconsin. Adrienne in Chicago, the only person who let me into her home during the tour having never met me. Captain Joe for letting us use his air mattress, his living room and his truck. Jake and BMFH for letting us crash at their hotel room at Jared’s wedding. The Lipe women for letting me not only sleep in their home, but fall in love with and then kidnap their elder daughter. Speaking of, Geez, for lending us her apartment for the weekend that started it all. Dr. Chase, Michael and Dale for letting us impose on their living room for too long when we first arrived back in Portland. And Discover and Visa, for making it all possible. You bastards now own me. Everyone else is welcome eternally in our beautiful hardwood, 100-year old Victorian home in Portland. I know we’ll see some of you sooner than later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. Eats With Face says:

    Wait. Where exactly did it “all” start? Some apartment in Chicago. Ney, nothing so glamorous. Try a blow up matress in my backroom. See folks, here’s an example of someone romanticing history. It’s just like all those heroic WWII movies with the good old american boys crushing the will of the rabid nazis, well guess what was happening on the eastern front? 20 million soviets were being slaughtered so those american boys could have an easier go of it. Damn you and your lies! Viva Chomsky!!

    I’m really excited that you have a home. I’m going to sleep all over it when I get there.

  2. Mr. Chair says:

    Busted. Tracing early origins takes us back to Denver, July 5, sort of the assassination of the Belgian Archduke. Combat engagement, Declarations of War and Congressional action wouldn’t see the books until the Midwest.

  3. Mr. Chair says:

    Busted. Tracing early origins takes us back to Denver, July 5, sort of the assassination of the Belgian Archduke. Combat engagement, Declarations of War and Congressional action wouldn’t see the books until the Midwest.

  4. catfishvegas says:

    Ferdinand was Austrian, but I appreciate the effort to equate relationship beginnings to historical warfare.
    Also, I pledge to go apeshit at your new pad.

  5. catfishvegas says:

    Ferdinand was Austrian, but I appreciate the effort to equate relationship beginnings to historical warfare.
    Also, I pledge to go apeshit at your new pad.

Leave a Reply

